Volunteer : Sign In | Register

Emirate of Abu Dhabi

The Emirate of Abu Dhabi is located on the Arabian Gulf, on latitude 22.5 and 25 degrees north and longitude 51 and 55 degrees east, the largest of the seven emirates; with an area of about 67,340 square kilometers, equivalent to 86.7% of the area of the UAE without the islands. The city of Abu Dhabi is the capital of the UAE with a population of 1,399,484 people, according to the census of December 2005. The Emirate of Abu Dhabi consists of three areas; the city of Abu Dhabi, the Eastern Region, and the Western Region.

The City of Abu Dhabi is the capital of the UAE, and it is the residence of the President and the center for the Federal Government, the ministries and the federal institutions, as well as foreign embassies. Abu Dhabi has Zayed Port, and Abu Dhabi International Airport, the city is also hub for most of the oil companies and commercial markets. Abu Dhabi’s Cornich, with its gardens and fountains, is considered one of the most amazing and beautiful monuments of the city.

The Eastern Province and its capital city of Al Ain is very fertile and green area, rich in farms and gardens, where there are natural underground mineral water flowing from deep wells through channels. Zayed City is the capital of The Western Providence, which has many planted forests to combat desertification, the total forests area is about 100 thousand hectares, and there are nearly 20 million trees. This province has also some oil fields and the oil refinery in the area of Ruwais. The Western Providence includes many islands such as: Das, Mubraz, Zarku and Arzanah, which are the most important areas of marine oil fields, in addition to the islands of Delma, Alsadiat, Abu Al-Abyad, and Sear Bani Yas which are natural inhabited islands.